Pres. Duterte to announce members of reconstituted BTC

President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to announce names of the members of the reconstituted Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) this coming January, Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Jesus Dureza said yesterday in Davao City.

In a report today by Philstar, it says that the BTC,  created under Executive Order (EO) 8 signed by President Duterte in a ceremony at Malacañan on Nov. 7, is among the mechanisms under the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro that will draft the enabling law that will establish and operationalize a new Bangsamoro political entity. 

The Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) crafted by the BTC during the administration of Pres. Benigno Aquino failed to pass by congress due to various contentious provisions that critics say are unconstitutional. 

The BTC will have 21 members with 10 members to be appointed by the government and 11, including its chairperson to be named by the Moro Islamic Liberation Front.

The Moro National Liberation Front under the leadership of Muslimin Sema, the indigenous peoples, sultanates and local government units in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao will be represented in the BTC.

 The commission will form an assembly that will serve as a consultative body to discuss the proposed enabling law with various stakeholders. It will also draft a proposed measure that will replace the Bangsamoro Basic Law, the Philstar also said in its report. 

Dureza said the deadline to draft the enabling law is in July 2017 in time for the resumption of the regular session of Congress.