Photo courtesy of BARMM Bureau of Public Information

Bangsamoro Region creates Development Coordinating Office to administer 63 Barangays in North Cotabato

Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao—The Bangsamoro Government has created the Development Coordinating Office (DCO) to administer the 63 barangays in North Cotabato that opted to join the new region during the 2019 Plebiscite.
The officials took their Oath of Moral Governance in the presence of Chief Minister Ahod “Al-Haj Murad” Ebrahim Tuesday, June 30 at the Bangsamoro Government Center in Cotabato City, said the BARMM’s Bureau of Public Information (BPI). 
This embarks our plans in development programs in the area.” Ebrahim said.

He attributes the delay of the oath taking to the emergence of Coronavirus Disease pandemic in early part of this year.
Mohammad Kelie Antao will lead as the Administrator of the said office, while Jimmy Adil, Jabib Guiabar, Esmael Maguid, Duma Mascud, Ibrahim Rahman, Abdulatip Tiago, and Nayang Timan were appointed as area coordinators.

“We will work hard to ensure we are instrumental in our government’s call for moral governance,” Antao stressed.

BARMM Executive Secretary Abdulraof Macacua facilitated the oath-taking ceremony, and Ministry of Interior and Local Government (MILG) Minister Atty. Naguib Sinarimbo, who will supervise the newly created office also present during the oath taking.

The villages where majority of the voters voted yes during the plebiscite are:

The 63 barangays are Dunguan and Tapodoc in Aleosan; Manarapan, Nasapian, Kibayao, Ktulaan, Langogan, Pebpoloan and Tupig in Carmen; Nanga-an, Simbuhay, Sanggadong, Buluan, Pedtad, Simone and Tamped in Kabacan; Damatulan, Kadigasan, Kadingilan, Kapinpilan, Kudarangan, Central Labas, Malingao, Mudseng, Nabalawag, Olandang, Sambulawan, Tugal and Tumbras in Midsayap; Lower Baguer, Balacayon, Buricain, Datu Binasing, Kadingilan, Matilac, Patot, Lower Pangangkalan, Datu Mantil, Libungan Torreta, Upper Pangangkalan and Simsiman in Pigcawayan; and Bagoinged, S. Balong, S. Balongis, Batulaawan, Buliok, Gokotan, Kabasalan, Lagunde, Macabual, Macasendeg, Barungis, Bualan, Bulol, Fort Pikit, Gli-gli, Manaulanan, Nabundas, Nalapaan, Nunguan, Pamalian, Panicupan and Rajah Muda.

The establishment of the Development Coordinating Office was through an Executive Order issued by the Office of the Chief Minister on January 27, 2020, which stated that it is the primary office for planning and implementation of programs, projects, and activities of BARMM ministries and offices in the North Cotabato barangays, the Bangsamoro Govt website said.

The said office will be composed of the offices of the Administrator, eight (8) Area Coordinators, and support staff.

The MILG will assign a Municipal Local Government Operations Officer (MLGOO), while the ministries and head of agencies can designate staff from their offices.