Photo credits to BPI-BARMM

Bangsamoro Women Commission launches BM- RAPWPS 2020-2022

COTABATO CITY (October 31, 2020)— The Bangsamoro Women Commission (BWC) of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) launched Saturday, October 30, 2020 the Bangsamoro Regional Action Plan on Women, Peace, and Security (BM-RAPWPS) 2020-2022.
BWC Chairperson Bainon Karon spearheaded the formulation of the RAPWPS 2020-2022, said a report by BPI-BARMM.

The launching according to the report of BPI-BARMM was the highlight of BARMM’s celebration of United Nations Security Council’s (UNSC) 20th anniversary.

“The celebration of 20th year anniversary of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is also a celebration of women’s role in contribution to the peace process that gave birth to the BARMM, “MP Karon said.

“Let us work together, hand and hand in delivering a peaceful and resilient Bangsamoro community with women and active partners in nation-building in the regional development,” she said.

In his message delivered during the launching, Bangsamoro Chief Minister Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim emphasized that the contribution of women was very instrumental during the peace process between the government of the Philippines and Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF).
“The cite remains vivid to my memory, how our dear sisters and daughters lobbying and rallying for the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL),” Chief minister Ebrahim recalled.

 “This document shall guide and remind the members of bureaucracy that there can be no genuine peace and development without women’s participation,” Ebrahim added.

The formulation of RAPWPS was made possible through the help and support of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and The Asia Foundation (TAF), the BPI-BARMM report said.

Present during the event were BARMM Executive Secretary Abdulraof Macacua, Members of the Parliament, and different stakeholders who signified their commitment to support the RAPWPS 2020-2022.