President Rodrigo Roa Duterte addresses he Filipino community at the Royal Cultural Palace in Amman, Jordan on September 7, 2018. Rene B. Lumawag / /PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

Pres. Duterte announces he will campaign for the ‘yes'” vote

Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao — President Rodrigo Duterte announced he would campaign for a “yes” vote in the January 21, 2019 plebiscite to ratify RA 11054 or the Organic Law for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (OLBARMM).

He made the announcement during his meeting with Filipino community in Amman, Jordan on September 7.

It was the first time that Duterte categorically declared he would campaign for “yes” in the plebiscite.

 “I ask my Bangsamoro brothers and sisters, as well as the indigenous communities and Christian settlers living within the Bangsamoro areas, to actively participate in constructive discussions about the law in your homes, in your villages, and communities. But more importantly, I encourage you to take part in the upcoming plebiscite so that you may express your sovereign will through the ballot,” Duterte said as quoted by Mindanews in its report yesterday.

A special registration for members of Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), Moro National Liberation front (MNLF), and Bangsamoro is set today until September 13 in selected areas in the core territory, and in areas mentioned in the BOL.

In Maguindanao, the registration will take place at Camp Darapanan, Sultan Kudarat, while registrants in Cotabato City will register at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex, ORG Compound.

Republic Act No. 11054 or Organic Law for Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (OLBARMM) was passed by congress on July 27, and signed by Pres. Duterte on the same day.

The BOL, previously known as Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) was crafted by a 21-Member Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) whose members are from the MILF, MNLF, migrant settlers, and indigenous people.

The BBL or BOL is the implementing law of Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) signed by the GPH and the MILF Peace Panels on August 27, 2014 at Malacañang Ground, Manila.

The signing was witnessed by former Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak, former President Benigno Aquino III, the diplomatic corps, cabinet members, AFP and PNP top ranking officers, representatives of international non-government organizations (INGO), and Civil Society Organization (CSOs).