Comelec proclaims ratification of Bangsamoro Organic Law

Sitting as the National Plebiscite Board of Canvassers, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) en banc has proclaimed on Friday (Jan 25) evening the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) ratified with more than one and half million voters from the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao who signified the BOL approval.

In the ARMM, “Yes” votes garnered 1,540,017 while around 198,750 voters negated the ratification of the measure which would pave the way for the establishment of new autonomous region with more political and fiscal powers and increased share in the national government resources.

With the approval of the BOL also known as Republic Act 11054, the ARMM would deemed be abolished and be replaced by the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

During the plebiscite which was held on January 21, 2019 the electorates of the cities of Isabela and Cotabato were asked if they will allow inclusion of their towns to the autonomous region.

In Cotabato city 36,682 voters chose for the inclusion in the BARMM while “No” votes garnered 24,994.

Majority of the electorates in Isabela city voted “no” for the inclusion to the autonomous region. Result showed around 22,441 voters favored “No” to inclusion outnumbering 19,032 people who voted for “yes.” 

Voters of Basilan were also asked if they favor inclusion of Isabela city in BARMM. There were 144,640 who favored while 8,487 voted for “no.”

However since Isabela city voted against inclusion in the Bangsamoro region, Basilan’s overwhelming favorable vote for inclusion of the province is deemed irrelevant.

With the dawn of new autonomous government, the leadership of Moro Islamic  Liberation Front (MILF) calls for unity among the Bangsamoro people.

BOL is the fruit of more than two decades peace negotiation between the Philippine government and the MILF.

The measure provides the creation of Bangsamoro Transition Authority that will act as interim government between the plebiscite and the first elections in the BARMM by 2022.

Around 80 members of the BTA is expected to be appointed by President Rodrigo Duterte soon.

The MILF Central Committee has chosen MILF Chair Murad Ebrahim as the interim Chief Minister.