President Rodrigo Roa Duterte ( left), Chief Minister Al Haj Murad Ebrahim (right) and other PRRD cabinet officials, attends the Joint National Peace and Order Council (NPOC) – Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) Cluster Meeting and AFP-PNP Command Conference on March 14, 2019 in Davao City.

Malacañang confirms attendance of Pres. Duterte in BARMM inauguration

Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao– The inauguration of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) and the first session of Bangsamoro Parliament will push through on March 25, with Malacañang confirming President Duterte’s attendance to grace the rescheduled events.

The original scheduled was March 11 as mentioned by members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) and interim Chief Minister (ICM) Murad Ebrahim during their first caucus here last February 27, said a report by Manila Bulletin.

It was moved to March 21, a date coinciding with the Estrada government’s declaration of “all-out war” against the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) 19 years ago, the report also said.

The venue for the historic events would be the 145-seater Shariff Kabunsuan Center (SKCC) at the 22-hectared compound previously known as ORC or Office of the Regional Commissioner.

The President on February 22 swore in the Interim Chief Minister Al Haj Murad Ebrahim and 76 BTA members took their oath in Malacañang Palace on February 22.

The BTA is composed of 41 MILF-nominated members and 39 government representatives.

They will remain in their respective positions until the election of regular officials in 2022.

The Manila Bulletin report says that Ebrahim has initially named 10 ministers of the 15-member regional cabinet

The cabinet includes ministries on finance and budget management; social services; trade, investments, and tourism; labor and employment; basic, higher and technical Education; transportation and communications; public works; indigenous peoples’ affairs; health;?local government;?environment, natural resources, and energy; public order and safety; human settlements development;?science and technology;?and agriculture, fisheries and agrarian reform. (Source:  Manila Bulletin, 03-17-19)