NEW SPEAKER. Lanao del Sur's Ali Pangalian Balindong will lead the Bangsamoro Parliament. Photo from Balindong's Twitter account

Atty. Balindong named Speaker of Bangsamoro Parliament

Cotabato City- Ali Pangalian Balindong, a long-time supporter of the Bangsamoro Struggle was named Speaker of the Bangsamoro Parliament replacing the late MILF 1st Vice Chairman, and former Speaker Ghazali Jaafar who passed away last March 13. 

His appointment was made during the 1st Session of the parliament on Friday, March 29 at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex, Cotabato City. He hails from Lanao Del Sur and was a former representative of the province's second district.

Meanwhile, Hatimil Hassan, a Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) leader, was elected deputy speaker, according to a Luwaran source who was a privy to his appointment.

He was a member of the Duterte-time Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC).

Youth Leader and Lawyer Lanang Ali Jr was named Majority Leader while Laisa Alamia, former ARMM Executive Secretary was named Minority Leader.

Al Haj Murad Ebrahim whose real name is Ahod Balawag Ebrahim,  BARMM Interim Chief Minister also named members of his Cabinet who took their oath on Friday, March 29.

Al Haj Murad Ebrahim - Ministry of Public Works and Highways (concurrent with his role as Interim Chief Minister)

Architect Eduard Guerra - Ministry of Finance and Budget Management

Lawyer Raissa Jajurie - Ministry of Social Sevices

Mohagher Iqbal - Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education

Doctor Safrullah Dipatuan - Ministry of Health

Lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo - Ministry of Local Government

Abdulraof Macacua - Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Energy

Mohammad Yacob - Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Agrarian Reform

Hussein Munoz - Ministry of Public Order and Safety

Timuay Melanio Ulama - Ministry of Indigenous People's Affairs

 (Source: Rappler, and MindaNews)