Opening of BTA Parliament’s ‘Second Regular Session’ Set on June 16

Cotabato City/June 4 – The opening of the ‘Second Regular Session’ of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament is set on June 16. 

This was announced by Lawyer Lanang Ali Jr., the BTA Parliament’s Majority Floor Leader during a caucus held Tuesday. 

“The Wali of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) Khalifa Nando will open the BTA Parliament Second Regular Session as mandated by Section 3, Article VIII of R.A. No. 11054 or the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL).” Ali Jr. said.

“Nando will also deliver his message,” Ali Jr. added. 

The Majority Floor Leader said Chief Minister Ahod Ebrahim is expected to report the status of the Bangsamoro during this Coronavirus 2019 (COVID19) pandemic as the highlight of the June 16 ceremonial opening of the BTA Parliament Second Regular Session.”

The caucus was attended by BTA Secretary-General Raby Angkal, representatives from the Office of the Speaker and Minority Block Leader Lawyer Laisa Alamia, and BTA heads of divisions.

Angkal said “the ceremonial opening of the BTA Parliament Second Regular Session during Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) is set, provided that physical attendance shall not exceed 50% of the session hall’s capacity, following guidelines issued by the National Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on COVID19 pandemic.”

The Secretary-General said the public and the media are strictly not allowed entry within the session hall premises as a live coverage will be provided via the Bangsamoro Facebook Page ‘Bangsamoro Government.’