BARMM Cabinet files three priority Codes

Cotabato City (July 22, 2020)—Three (3) priority codes of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) have been filed in the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), and went through the first stage of legislation this Wednesday, July 22, said a report by Bureau of Public Information of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Mindanao (BARMM). 
During his 8th Chief Minister’s Hour at the plenary session of the BTA Parliament on Wednesday, BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim stressed, “We [the Government of the Day] are aware that the passage of the six priority codes are the main duties mentioned in the Bangsamoro Organic Law and we are also aware that there have been concerns about the status of these codes. 

The said codes, authored by the Government of the Day are the Local Government Code (Cabinet Bill No. 58), the Civil Service Code (Cabinet Bill No. 59), and the Administrative Code (Cabinet Bill No. 60).

Ebrahim told the Members of Parliament (MPs) that, these codes were “carefully drafted” by the Bangsamoro Cabinet with collective efforts from the Office the Speaker, Office of the Majority Floor Leader, and some Members of the Parliament (MP) before submitting it to the parliament.

“We are confident that we will be able to iron out whatever issues and challenges we may face in completing the legislative process,” Ebrahim stated, adding, “What is of prime importance is we pass these vital legislations within the year, In Shaa Allah.”

“These legislations had undergone numerous deliberations, consultations, and sessions with experts, including a meeting held on July 20, to finalize the six (6) priority codes, which also include the Bangsamoro Electoral Code, Revenue Code, and the Educational Code,” CM Ebrahim added.

According to Ebrahim, the Bangsamoro Government presses on the importance of fulfilling its duties to the Bangsamoro and its people during the transition period, despite the ongoing war against the Coronavirus Disease (Covid-19).

There were forty-five (45) MPs physically present during the session, while fifteen (15) attended via online conference.