DOJ releases Anti-Terrorism Act implementing rules and regulation

The Department of Justice on Saturday (Oct 17) released the implementing rules and regulations (IRR) of Republic Act 11479 or the Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 whose aim is to prevent, prohibit, and penalize terrorism in the Philippines.
RA 11479 which replaced the human Security Act of 2007 was signed into law by President Rodrigo Duterte on July 3, 2020.

There are 37 petitions filed before the Supreme Court challenging the constitutionality of the anti-terror law.

Among the petitioners are comprised of lawyers, journalists, law professors and civil society organizations.

These includes the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, the national body of Philippine lawyers, and Center for International Law (CenterLaw), a group co-founded by presidential spokesperson Harry Roque.

One of the issues raised by the petitioners is the power of the  Anti-Terrorism Council (ATC) to issue written authorizations for the detention of persons merely “suspected” of committing terrorist acts, without the need for a judge to issue a warrant of arrest as required by the Constitution.

Moro lawyer Algamar Latiph said during an interview by ONE News that the anti-terror law has violated eight provisions of the constitution.
He said that personal security and liberty of a person is inviolable and that custody of a suspect apprehended is judicial not administrative.
Latiph expressed concern that innocent Muslim civilians may be wrongfully accused because of prejudice and stereotypes.

On July 2, 2020, the Bangsamoro Parliament passed a resolution appealing to President Duterte to veto the anti-terror bill fearing that the law may lead into discrimination and abuse of the Muslims from Mindanao.