Maguindanao 2nd District Represenative Esmael "Toto"

Senate Committee on Local Govt supports Maguindanao split

COTABATO CITY – The Senate Committee on Local Government has supported a bill filed by Maguindanao 2nd District Representative Esmail Mangudadatu, and other lawmakers to divide Maguindanao province into two areas.
An article posted online by Philippine News Agency (PNA) Monday,  said that the Senate committee, chaired by Senator Francis Tolentino, approved on the same day House Bill (HB) 6413 that seeks to divide Maguindanao into Northern and Southern Maguindanao provinces pending the recommendation by the Technical Working Group (TWG) to determine the center of government in the “would-be” Southern Maguindanao.

The bill, which has hurdled its third and final reading in the House of Representatives, designates Buluan town as the provincial seat of government for the South while Datu Odin Sinsuat town will represent the North, the PNA Report said..

In his manifestation to the Senate committee, Mangudadatu urged the Senate leadership to support House Bill 6413 by adopting a substitute bill following the content and design of HB 6413 and SB Nos. 1714 and 1824 concerning SB No. 1274 filed by Sen. Ramon Revilla Jr, the PNA report also said.

The legislations similarly seek the creation of Northern and Southern Maguindanao provinces, including the naming of Buluan and Datu Odin Sinsuat as provincial seats of government, while SB 1274 filed by Revilla pursues the creation of Western Maguindanao instead.

 “While we respect and appreciate Sen. Revilla for sponsoring and filing a counterpart SB towards the realization of an empowered Maguindanao, we would like to request Sen. Tolentino that our prayers and provisions illustrated in HB 6413 be adopted in a substitute bill.,” the PNA report quoting Mangudadatu saying Monday. 

He said the division of Maguindanao aims to make public service more accessible and closer to the people.