5 LGUs receive P25-M worth town halls from MILG-BARMM

COTABATO CITY/Dec. 25 – Four towns in Lanao del Sur and another one in Maguindanao will receive town halls worth P25-M each from the Ministry of Interior and Local Government (MILG) of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

BARMM’s Interior and Local Government Minister Naguib Sinarimbo said that on Thursday, Dec. 24, he signed Memoranda of Agreement (MOA) with the mayors of the towns of Butig, Sultan Dumalondog, Lumbaca Unayan  and Poona Bayabao, all in Lanao del Sur, and Pandag town in Maguindanao for the construction of their two-storey municipal halls funded by the MILG.

Sinarimbo said “these municipalities have no permanent municipal halls for the longest time.”

“The ministry (MILG) and the Bangsamoro Government  under the Chief Minister Al Haj Murad Ebrahim is committed to completing the construction of government centers to ensure that our constituents are able to approach their local elected officials in designated buildings and where services may be accessed by the people,” Sinarimbo said.

He said “the design of the municipal hall is modern yet reflective of the rich and distinct culture and history of our people.”

Held in the MILG-BARMM office in Cotabato City, MOA signing was witnessed by BARMM Executive Secretary Abdulraof Macacua.