Photo CCTO

Senior Minister Macacua is Maguidanao Del Norte Governor

Cotabato City- It’s final and it’s official. BARMM government’s Senior Minister Abdulraof A. Macacua is now the designated governor of Maguindanao del Norte following his appointment as officer-in-charge to assume the gubernatorial seat of the newly created province during the early week of April, this year.
Macacua a.k.a. Sammy Gambar was sworn into office by His Excellency President Ferdinand “BongBong” Romualdez Marcos, Jr., at Malacanang Palace in Manila on April 5, 2023. 
His appointment as the OIC of the province of Maguindanao Del Norte has finally settled and put an end to the political query engulfing the province for some time since its partitioning into two. 
Recalling that former President Rodrigo R. Duterte approved Republic Act 11550 a.k.a. “An Act Dividing the Province of Maguindanao into Two (2) Provinces, namely: Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur” last May 27, 2021. 

The law provides that Maguindanao del Norte shall consist of the municipalities of Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay, with the seat of the provincial government at Datu Odin Sinsuat.
Meanwhile, the municipalities of Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi shall comprise the other province of Maguindanao Del Sur with the seat of government at Buluan.
Then a plebiscite ratifying the partition was subsequently conducted last September 17, 2022, three months after the conduct of the 2022 local and national elections. Said period subsequent to the conclusion of the 2022 LNE had recently created a political controversy relating to the composition of public officials to sit in the new Maguindanao province. 

Invoking Republic Act 11550, Governor Bai Mariam Sangki-Mangudadatu appointed and sworn into office Vice Governor Bai Ainee L. Sinsuat as Governor of Maguindanao del Norte and Datu Sharifudin Tucao P. Mastura, as the vice governor. 
However, with the same law referred to as the legal basis, Malacanang noted that the two provinces are rendered as newly created provinces with the dissolution of the original Maguindanao, as such respective elective positions therein are vacant. 
On such relation and on that same date, former Maguindanao Governor Bai Mariam S. Mangudadatu was also designated as the OIC-governor for Maguindanao del Sur.
Meanwhile, following his appointment, him being the chief executive of the new provincial government, Senior Minister Macacua shall now “exercise such power and perform such duties and functions,” as provided for in the Local Government Code of 1991, as amended by R.A. 11054, and other related laws.