The newly Appointed members of the BTA parliament took their oaths at the Malacanang Palace

BTA Parliament passes bill on legal, special holidays in BARMM

Cotabato City– The Bangsamoro Parliament has  passed on third and final reading Bangsamoro Transition Authority Bill No. 192, otherwise known as the Bangsamoro Holidays Act of 2023, on Thursday July 20, with 46 affirmative votes, no negative votes, and no abstentions, according to the Bangsamoro Information Office (BIO).
The bill repealed Muslim Mindanao Act No. 17, which recognized Muslim historical and religious events and all existing Muslim holidays in the then Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, Mindanews report said on July 22.

It classifies holidays in the region into three categories: regular non-working holidays, special non-working holidays, and special working holidays.

According to the report, BTA Bill No. 192 provides that a total of four regular non-working holidays, two special non-working holidays, and nine special working holidays will be observed in the BARMM.

It further said that the regular non-working holidays include Bangsamoro Foundation Day (January 21), Eid’l Fit’r – Shawwal 1, Eid’l Adha – Dul Al-Hijjah 10, and Day of Shuhada (March 18).

The special non-working holidays are Day of Arafah – 9th day of Dhul Hijjah, and 1st Day of Tashriq – 11th day of Dhul Hijjah.The dates marking the signing of the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro between the Philippine government and the Moro Islamic Liberation, and the Final Peace Agreement between the Philippine government and the Moro National Liberation Front are among the special working holidays, Mindanews report also said.