32 parliamentary districts created in BARMM

COTABATO CITY – Chief Minister Ahod 'Al Haj Murad' Ebrahim of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) signed a bill into law on Wednesday night, Feb. 28, creating parliamentary districts across the region.
Ebrahim, together with Speaker Pangalian Balindong of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), took the lead in the symbolic signing of the Bangsamoro Autonomy Act (BAA) No. 58, otherwise known as "An Act Providing for the Creation of Parliamentary Districts in BARMM" soon after the BTA's approval of the measure on the third and final reading.

"Thank you very much for working hard and working on time; you were able to pass this very important bill," Ebrahim expressed his gratitude to the members of the Parliament, who applauded in response.

The Act has been formally enacted, with 47 votes in support, one vote in opposition, and three abstentions. This Act officially establishes the parliamentary districts within the region.
According to a statement from the BTA media office, the newly enacted law will serve as the foundational framework for the delineation of the parliamentary districts, ensuring fair representation for the diverse needs and concerns of the Bangsamoro people.

In the public consultations on the bill, local leaders and sector representatives in the region's six provinces, three cities, and the Special Geographic Area requested the addition of at least one more district each to enhance representation in the Parliament.

The original bill proposing the creation of 32 single-member parliament districts won, however.
The law allows for three district representatives from Basilan, seven from Sulu, three from Tawi-Tawi, four each from Maguindanao del Norte and del Sur, eight from Lanao del Sur, two from Cotabato City, and one from the Special Geographic Area.