Army Officers brief army troops at the 6th Infantry Division HQ in Datu Odin Sinsuat, Maguindanao Del Norte

AFP to deploy 3 Army battalions during SGA-BARMM Plebiscite

Datu Odin Sinsuat, Maguindanao Del Norte- Maj. Gen. Alex Rillera, Commanding General of the 6th Infantry Division (ID) announced that three army battalions will be deployed during the April 13 plebiscite to ratify the creation of eight towns in the Special geographic Area, Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).
The said soldiers belong to the 90th, 34th and 6th Infantry Battalions. The 63 barangays in Cotabato form part of the SGA-BARMM.
Last year, the BTA Parliament approved the creation of Pahamudin, Kadayangan, Nabalawag, Old Kaabakan, Kapalawan, Malidegao, Tugunan and Ligawasan municipalities.

“While there is no threat to the safety of the April 13 plebiscite in these areas, we want to show residents that the 6th ID is all out in supporting the Mindanao peace process... which aims to promote progress in BARMM via governance,” Rillera said as quoted by Philstar.

Cotabato Gov. Emmylou Taliño Mendoza and Cotabato first district Rep. Samantha Santos both assured that they would assist the Comelec, Soccsksargen police and 6th ID to ensure the smooth conduct of the plebiscite.

Mendoza, chairperson of the Regional Development Council, said the socioeconomic growth of the 63 Bangsamoro barangays will boost the economy in Cotabato.

“Most importantly, this is all about the Mindanao peace process that I and mayors here are patronizing extensively,” she said.