Photo Courtesy of PinayNews

Election monitor reminds BARMM voters MPs elect Chief Minister

The Legal Network for Truthful Elections (LENTE) reminded the voters in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) that “in a parliamentary system, the Chief Minister is not elected directly by the people.”
“Voters vote (for) the Members of Parliament, then the members will vote among themselves who will be the Chief Minister,” said LENTE Executive Director Ona Caritos during the “Reporting the BARMM Election” training for journalists in Davao City on Sunday, May 26.

Lawyer Caritos said that voters in the BARMM will vote for the parliament members and the candidates for the mid-term national and local elections in 2025.

“Voters will elect 32 single-district representatives and the regional parliamentary political party (RPPP) of their choice,” Caritos said.

As provided in the Bangsamoro Autonomy Act No. 35, otherwise known as the Bangsamoro Electoral Code (BEC), a regional political party must nominate 40 names, 30 percent (or 12) of whom must be women.

Caritos said the sectoral representatives will be elected by each sector during an assembly of accredited sectoral organizations.

Any sectoral representative must be a bona fide member of the sector he or she seeks to represent; must be a member of either an RPPP through its Sectoral Wing or parliamentary sectoral party organization (PSO) duly registered and accredited by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), through the Bangsamoro Electoral Office (BEO).

The BEC provides that the parliament shall be composed of 80 members, with 40 seats allocated for regional political parties, 32 single-member parliamentary districts and eight sectoral representatives.