Duterte signs appointments of reconstituted BTC Commissioners

President Rodrigo Duterte finally signed on Monday night the appointment papers of the members of the reconstituted Bangsamaoro Transition Commission that would draft the Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL), a Mindanews report said today.

The appointment papers of said appointees will be released shortly, said Sec. Jess Dureza, Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP).

The BTC has to hit the ground running as soon as the appointment papers are released and the members take their oath because according to the Duterte administration’s Bangsamoro Peace and Development Roadmap, the expanded BTC is supposed to submit the draft enabling law by July 2017, before the President delivers his second State of the Nation Address on July 24, the Mindanews report also said.

The Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) will have 11 members including the Commission’s chairman while the government will have 10 members three of them will represent the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) faction under Muslimin Sema.