LGU North Cotabato supports inclusion of its 39 villages in Bangsamoro Region

The Local Government of North Cotabato led by Gov. Lala Talino-Mendoza expressed full support to the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) and the inclusion of its 39 villages in the planned Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) said a post by the MILF Chairman Official Facebook Page.

During their “courtesy visit” to the MILF leadership in Camp Darapanan, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao, the North Cotabato officials made known their support to the BOL and the inclusion of the 39 villages to the Bangsamoro Region.

In their visit Monday, October 1, Mendoza was accompanied by Vice Gov. Shirlyn Macasarte-Villanueva, some of the board members and mayors of North Cotabato.

The Organic Law for Bangsamaoro Autonomous Region (BARMM) was passed by Congress on July 27, and signed on the same day by President Rodrigo Duterte. 

The COMELEC has set a plebiscite for the ratification of the BOL on January 21 next year for the creation of the BARMM that will replace the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

To date, holding of advocacy programs are full swing both inside and outside of the core territory to enlighten the people on the benefits of joining the Bangsamoro.