Photo courtesy by: BTC Commissioner Maisara C. Dandamun-Latiph

BTC approves final draft of BBL

Ms. Irene Santiago, Chair of the GPH Peace Implementing Panel revealed that the Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) has approved the draft Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) on Tuesday, June 6.

According to a report by Philstar, Santiago said the draft would be sent to the Office of the President at the latest by June 14 so it can be submitted to Congress on June 24 or 25. 

“We are hoping... the President will mention it in his State of the Nation Address and say that it is a priority bill,” Santiago said. 

She said the new measure is a “better version,” considering that commission members were “very pleased” with it.

The five-member Coordinating Committee of the 21-member Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) finalized the draft Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) and submitted it to the plenary.

The five standing committee of the 21-member BTC – Fiscal Autonomy, Political Autonomy, Basic Rights, Transitory, and Justice and Security signed their  respective committee reports on June 2, in Davao City, according to a report by Mindanews on June 05.

Members of the coordinating committee are also chairing the five committees of the BTC – Atty. Firdausi Abbas for Security and Justice Committee, Atty. Jose Lorena tor Transitory Committee, Atty. Raisa Jajurie for Fiscal Autonomy, Atty. Hussin Amin, for Basic Rights Committee, and Mohagher Iqbal for Political Autonomy.